What Are Chakras?

There is deep wisdom within our very flesh if we can only come to our senses and feel it. – Elizabeth A. Behnke

The main function of the chakras is to regulate the flow of universal energy in and out of the body.

There are 7 main or major chakra’s located in specific places along the human body. They rotate and both draw in and give out universal energy, also known as Chi, Prana, Life Force, Light etc. The word “Chakra” is a Sanskrit word, meaning ‘wheel’. The 7 major chakras are:

1 – Base or Root Chakra, located at the perineum and is associated with the colour Red.

2 – Sacral Chakra, located just below the navel/belly button and is associated with the colour Orange.

3 – Solar Plexus Chakra, located where the ribcage meets and is associated with the colour Yellow.

4 – Heart Chakra, located in the center of your chest and is associated with the colour Green.

5 – Throat Chakra, located in the center of your neck and is associated with the colour Blue.

6 – 3rd Eye Chakra, located just above where your eyebrows meet and is associated with the colour Indigo.

7 – Crown Chakra, located at the top of your head, where the soft spot of a newborn baby is and is associated with the colour Violet.

In general, a chakra extends between 9 and 12 inches from the body when fully extended and open.


Chakra’s act as gateways to consciousness. Each chakra that is activated gives you a new awareness which raises your level of consciousness. They also act as energy transformers. They regulate the flow of vital life force energies through the body. The chakra’s act like cones that draw in and push out energy like a vortex.

Someone who is new to consciousness may not have well-developed chakra’s. This may result in them drowning in more energy and giving off less. The energy that their chakra’s draw in will get stored in the body.

Someone who is experienced with spirituality and consciousness will give out more energy. Their chakras will tend to be larger, meaning they can store more energy in their bodies, and thus, give off more energy. For example, a Guru would be more experienced in spirituality, their chakra’s and Aura would be much larger than the average person, and would have more Chi stored in their bodies, meaning they are more able to give off more as a result. The energy that is given off by these people is able to affect the atmosphere and the people they come into contact with.

Chakra’s are gateways, or doorways, that allow you to reach higher states of consciousness. As you open and stimulate the flow of energy going in and out of each chakra, you give yourself access to heightened states of awareness and consciousness.

Chakras are able to rotate both clockwise and counterclockwise. Imagine holding a steering wheel out in front of you. This steering wheel is your chakra. If you turn that wheel clockwise, it begins to pull in universal energy. When the chakra rotates counterclockwise, it is giving out energy.

When a chakra is open and operating efficiently, it will spin fast and shine brightly and resemble a ball of light.

When a chakra is blocked, it will spin at a slower rate.

Each chakra has a protective web that stops negative energy from entering. But through negative thoughts and feelings, this web gets damaged which creates holes or cracks, so now, negative energy can set in, and as a result, this chakra now becomes dis-harmonious.

A chakra that is blocked, this is where the negative energies can hinder its rotation. The negative energy that gets caught in a chakra affects the purity of the energy being given off by it. And as chakras are directly related to consciousness, a blocked chakra will have a limiting effect on the way you experience life and in its wholeness.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on pinterest